Happy Chinese New Year!

Happy Chinese New Year!

Happy Chinese New Year!

Today is Chinese New Year – year of snake, the most festive festival in China. To most people in the world, the New Year starts from January 1st in 2013, while in China, the New Year start from the Spring Festival. I have no idea if the foreigners know this festival, maybe, people live near the China Town does. The Spring Festival means a lot for Chinese. It is the time for the reunion of all family members. Daughters and sons come all the way from their workplace to spend the New Year festival with their parents. Different from people from the western countries, most Chinese do not usually say phrases like “I love you so much” to their parents; they would like to “express” this by sharing their happiness in this past year, bring their beloved ones home and of course giving some surprise gifts.

The spring festival to me is more special this year, because last year is the year of college graduation as well as the start of my work. My role changes in year 2012. I had been a student for more than 16 years. Now I am happy to get a job and start a living by myself. I have to share more responsibility of my family and consider building a new family which is pretty hard yet sweet. My parents and my grandma are very happy when I got home yesterday. Like other sons, I brought them gift. Actually, they do not care about the gift, what they really want is that you can come home safe and sound. In a word, I shall share more responsibility and put more attention of the well being of my family.

I used to keep a document after the end of every academic year. Nothing will change with this, but I would like to have it in a different way- keeping document in this journal. It will be much easier to browse through this journal than the document. There were a conclusion for the past year and new plans for the New Year. This tradition, as always, will be kept.

How was everything going in 2012?
In general, I was doing OK but not that satisfactory last year. I wasn’t doing great in the job. To be honest, I do not love the job I was doing, that is why I was planning changing for a new job. Study is a life-long project, but I didn’t stick to this since I graduated from school. There will always be excuses when I do not want to read books. This will be changed in the New Year as I was launching a book-reading project. As for the dating issue, terrible! Just didn’t find the right girl, anyway, it is not easy to find the Miss. Right. But I will try my best. I pray for the best luck.

Plans for year 2013
Work:
The job I am working on is a plain and boring work; it is time to change for a new one. But for the safe purpose, I will not change the present job until I find a new one.
Study:
Study is the life-long project. I would like to continue this. So I will start a book reading project – 2 books for each month (a Chinese book either about the literature or history plus one English book on whatever subject). Reading without thinking means noting, thus a category named book review will be added. In this category I will document my review each books I read. If this project is conducted very well, there will be at least 24 book reviewed.
Entertainment: I love watching movies very much. But watching movie is time consuming. So I will pick some classic ones and write the movie reviews once a week. Probably a category named movie review will be added. I seldom travel last year. I hope I can spend some time traveling. There is no need to add a new category. I will put them in the travel journals tagged travel.
Exercise: This is the daily routine I have been sticking with for more than 3 years and I will stick to it for the years to come. Push-ups is my favorite exercise. Easy and efficient. Simply doing this is not enough, I should do some more extra exercise – basketball.

That is the overview the old story and the plans for the New Year. I hope everything will go on as the schedule.

Happy year of snake! Happy Chinese New Year to all!

Jimi
Beijing 0:06 Today
London 16:06 Yesterday
New York 11:06 Yesterday
Berlin 17:06 Yesterday

6 thoughts on “Happy Chinese New Year!

  1. There is quite a large Chinese community in my city and everyone is invited to the New Year celebrations. They are loud and colourful. I love it.
    You have set yourself some interesting goals for the coming year. I hope you had a lovely time with your parents and Grandma and may I wish you a Happy Year of the Snake.

    • Thank you my dear friend! I am glad to hear there is a New Year celebration among the Chinese community in your country. It is always interesting to learn something new from another culture. Enjoy!
      Happy Year of Snake!

  2. Pingback: pure sketch and comic pictures

  3. Pingback: Review of Feb and Preview of Mar | pure sketch and comic pictures

Leave a Reply

